h1

Google Home Business Kit – The Post-Modern Scam

August 17, 2009

I know this blog is mostly composed of discussions of wacky cartoon reviews, but I feel the need to broaden the focus somewhat as it’s also essentially the blog I put my writing-related links on.

I’m not one of those people like the good folks at snopes.com who spend their time rooting up scams and dishonest practices, but I couldn’t help but notice the pyramid scheme known as The Google Home Business Kit.

Here, have an example website: http://workingg.com/

It’s the same sort of deal you see with pills for sexual virility and most pyramid scams. They make claims about money back guarantees and low entry costs with fine print about massive monthly charges and other chicanery. Anyone like me reads this and immediately suspects something shady. From the people who’ve been tricked I’ve learned that their advice is essentially to create fake blogs and links to help spread the scam. If the pyramid shape is forming in your head then you’re not part of the problem. I’m not here to discuss pyramid schemes or scams directly, but it’s a scam to be sure.

Me being me, I googled it.

The irony is not lost on me.

 The responses are all about scam watches and scam forums, naturally. Here’s the kicker, as evidenced by the second most popular website: http://www.reviewopedia.com/google-home-business-kit.htm

It’s all pretty standard scambuster shenanigans right up until the last bit, where it states, ”

If you came to this website because you’re looking for a way to make money online, then check out the method that’s been working for me. It’s 100% beginner friendly and assumes you have no prior knowledge on how to make money online. Just let me know where to send you the info, Click Here.” This Mr. Steve Albright just explained a scam, and then suggests you go to his link and  submit your information, and find the REAL ways to make money on the internet.

I google most things, I’m just curious that way, and when I typed in Steven Albright one of the suggested additions to my search was the word “scam”.

This is the wacky hall of mirrors part for me. Most of the forums I visited explaining the scam have some of these predatory responses. The sad part is most of the responses are not from people who dodged the scam, but people who’d already fallen for it and had to do things like cancelling their credit cards and disputing charges. Theoretically some of these trusting souls could get conned multiple times, only checking the forums after they’ve already been hosed. There’s a reason most smart scambusters close their posts to responses.

Here’s the thing to keep in mind, and I shall add some emphasis for the skimmers:

SCAMMERS CAN GOOGLE THEIR OWN SCAMS!

They can use forums intended to report them and brag about the real profits made, they can send alternate scam links, and they can report modest but still real profits using the system. A part of me has to admire the sheer audacity of sluicing the extremely gullible through multiple tiers of cons.

It reminds me of the pyramid scam the sister of my friend was considering. It basically consisted of paying to enter a system where you give advice to others, that key advice being to join the very same system. I explained that generally honest money is made through the exchange of goods and services, but she kept repeating the sales line. My favorite part was the following Q & A line:

Q: Is this a pyramid scheme?

A: No, it is not.

I’m abbreviating their response, but it starts with that. It’s always best to remind people that the only two honest ways to make tons of money are hard work or dumb luck. There is no reliable, consistent system to make money without work. If you want easy labor, get a part time job working at a dollar movie theater. I did that in high school and it was far less labor intensive than being a con artist.

If you want to make money, you have to work. Otherwise you’re a part of the problem.

